Public Display of Imperfection

About three months ago, my friend and coworker Stephanie, who is a real-deal artist, organized an amazing Arts and Crafts Show at the Handlebar.  There were all kinds of talented people there: basket weavers, jewelry makers, hula hoop makers, painters, etc.  Stephanie knew Lynne, mom, and I had been dabbling in the craft world so she asked us to participate as well.  I was extremely nervous and embarrassed because hey, these are professionals and I’m a total amateur.  But I faced my fears and wound up having a good time.  And the artists/pros were so sweet and they came by and encouraged us.  Here is a look at the goods.  I designed some onesies (mom had to help with the sewing):

And here’s a look at Barb’s beautiful wreaths:

You can see Lynne’s amazing coasters here.  Not trying to make you jealous or anything , but I happen to own a set.

And here’s what our trio’s booth looked like.  We made a deal not to spend any money on our set up, since we aren’t regular craft fair frequenters, so we only used items we already had.

Sorry for all the obnoxious “watermarks.”  I had been using Picnik, but since it’s going away, I’m trying to learn Picasa and haven’t really had time to play around with it.  I promise I’ll get better.

Here’s a pic of me and Barb manning the booth.  I wish ol’ Lynnie B was in it, but she was behind the camera, er, iphone.  If I look high it’s because I was.  On Advil Cold and Sinus.  Booo colds.

Even if you don’t plan to go in to business selling your crafts (I don’t), it’s good to put yourself out there once in a while.  It’s scary as hell, but I think honest feedback is good for the soul.  It will give you thicker skin, ideas for improvement, or a boost of self confidence.  Win-win-win.  (And the song gets stuck in my head–“All I do is win-win-win no matter what….up down up down up down.” I’m so gangsta.)

Categories: crafts | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Comment

Blog at WordPress.com.

